The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The Next Big Thing

Hmmm, so this is the second blog hop I’m participating in. The first, I joined very late, and my post didn’t come up during the hop, but was published like waaay later. This one, hopefully, will be ready on time.  I was tagged by Lacie J. Archer in the next big thing which is a worldwide hop that takes readers to various author’s blogs, to read their posts on certain questions that have been asked.

These are my answers to the questions:

What is the working title of your next book?

I usually don’t come up with a title for my book until I’m through with them. Sometimes, inspiration hits midway through my writing. However, I’m the kinda girl who prefers for the title to be a summary of the entire story. My short sweet story is titled “A Second Chance,” which I think sums it up perfectly.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was reading an old essay I had written for my English class, when it dawned on me that I could have my main character write an essay that would be read, not by the second main character (which was where my thoughts initially went), but by a teacher who would make a decision that would help said main character to achieve his dreams.

What genre does your book fall under?

Well, my writing definitely falls under m/m romance. From those who don’t know what that means, let’s just say I write about the romance that occurs between two men. Men have a big capacity to love (I should know, I’m an only child with way too many male cousins and male friends), and I feel it’s only fair that their own love stories be told as well.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I think Demola will be well played by Adewale Akinnuoye Agbaje. He has the African look, and that face is amazing. Plus, he’s Yoruba. That sort of completes it for me. See for yourself:

Ademola Collins

And Clive Owen would be my Carter of choice. Just because of those amazing green eyes and the rugged looks. #swoon.

clive owen.jpg

What’s the one sentence synopsis of your book?

After ten years, Carter is offered a chance to prove to the boy he tormented in high school, that’s he’s a changed person seeking a second chance.

Sorry, I’m not really good with one sentence summaries. Which I could have made it juicier though. #sad face.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Hopefully, it will be published by Less Than Three Press. They’ve been the ones I’ve been publishing with since I started writing (the coolest publisher any girl can ask for. Honest!), and I do hope they will accept this new story. So fingers crossed.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Well, it’s taken me about five months. The reason being that I’m guilty of something that Demola (my character) is accused of. I tend to start a flurry of writing, and then slow things down for a long time (at this stage, my muses have taken a hike and I join them in la la land). Then things pick up in a rush again when I find my deadline snapping at my ankles. Leans in to whisper a secret: I’m a terrible procrastinator. #rueful shrug.

What other books will you compare this story to within your genre?

Probably “One of those days” by Zathryn Priest. It’s a hilarious account of the bully coming across the boy now turned man he had tormented, and his attempted courtship. I don’t think my story is as comical, and things are a bit different, but the gist is similar I guess.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My friends in Nigeria who are gay and have to deal with the prejudice. I wanted a story where my character would be Nigerian, who would have a chance to pursue his desires, and sexuality in an environment where he will not face as much hostility as my friends here are facing.

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, the story is short and sweet. If you want light reading, with characters that would make you smile; and a resolution that proves that sometimes, it’s possible for events in your life to prevent bitterness from settling into your heart, then I think A Second Chance will be a good read.

I have tagged the lovely Natasha Duncan-Drake. You guys go visit her and check out her answers to the questions.

Leave a Reply

