Review Monday: The Party Boy’s Guide to Dating a Geek by Piper Vaughn and Xara X. Xanakas

partyboysguide400x600So, I decided to make Monday’s my Review Monday. Why? Cuz I like to read books, I like talking about books and cuz I can! #tongue out. Lol.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get this post up and running yesterday because I got caught up in work. Hopefully, I will be more organized and prepared by next week. However, I refuse to change the title because it’s still review Monday for me, even though technically, today is Tuesday. (Does that make any sense)? Anyway, on to the review.

The book up for review this week is :The Party boy’s guide to dating a Geek written by the lovely Piper Vaughn and Xara X. Xanakas and published by Less than Three Press. I will have you know that I was one of the readers eagerly anticipating the release of this book, and when it was out, I made my purchase and took my time to get to it, and eventually read it. And let me tell you this, it was worth the wait. Even the cover is cute.

I love tattoos. Seeing it on a man turns my head, and to have the main character in the book not only have tattoos but be a tattoo artist as well, was amazing.

Ash was a sweetie who had a major crush on a geek. The bad boy realized that he was in way over his head when he saw that the man of his dreams was not interested in him. So in order to capture Fee’s attention, he acquires a dating book to help him capture his geek.

The one thing I loved about The Party boy’s guide to dating a Geek was the fact that by being themselves, the two main characters were able to end up together. Fee still remained a Geek and Ash still loved his parties (of course he became less of the party animal who sleeps around). The two men knew that what made the other person special and unique were the traits that they’d always had, and didn’t try to change that.

Fee was painted as part geek, part sex god, and let me tell you, the writers did such an amazing work that I had to fan myself. Whew! Of course, I also had to ask if I knew any geeks that were as hot as Fee Navarro. Unfortunately, I don’t. #sad face.

So, whenever you can, pick a copy of the book. It’s totally worth it.

Here’s an excerpt:

Ash set the box on the dining room table and made his way to the kitchen. Fee was standing at the sink washing out the cut on his hand. “It doesn’t look like it went too deep,” he said without looking at Ash.

“I’m really sorry about it.”

Fee turned around, and Ash could feel Fee’s eyes traveling up from his feet all the way to his face, taking in every detail of his body along the way. He fought the urge to shiver as goosebumps broke out.

“It’s all right. Accidents happen.” Blood soaked through the bandana as he stood there, and Ash’s stomach rolled a little. He swayed on his feet, and Fee reached out to steady him. “You all right?”

“Yeah. It’s just sometimes blood gets to me.” He tried to chuckle, but it sounded weak to his own ears. His gaze was fixed on the widening patch of red in Fee’s palm.

“You’re the last person I’d expect to be squeamish about a little blood.” Ash’s eyes snapped up to Fee’s face.

“Why?”

“Aren’t you a tattoo artist? With all those needles, I’d expect you to have an iron constitution.” Fee smiled, a real smile this time, instead of the polite ones he’d been getting. Fee had cute little crinkles around his eyes when he gave a genuine smile. Ash suddenly wanted to see more of it.

“Well, I’m still apprenticing, but I’ll be finished in about a year.” For some reason, little butterflies started fluttering in his stomach. “But there’s not a lot of bleeding with tattooing, and I stay away from the piercing. Besides, that’s different,” he said with a nod at Fee’s hand.

“Sorry,” Fee said as he turned around to run more water over his hand. “But hey, with the alcohol, it probably won’t get infected.”

Ash laughed. He couldn’t help it. Fee’s smile was contagious.

“Hey, here’s a new shirt.” Jack stopped short and looked between the two of them. His eyes narrowed a bit as he looked at Ash. “What’d I miss?”

“Nothing. I was just making sure he’s all right.” Ash stepped around Fee to get a trash bag from the box on the counter and turned around just in time to see Fee strip out of the wet shirt. He couldn’t move, couldn’t even breath staring at Fee’s body. Long and lean, with a well-defined chest and abdomen, he would have never guessed how tight the Fee’s body was under that shirt.

Fee dropped the wet shirt in the sink and reached over his head to stretch for a moment. The lines of his body got longer, and the cut of the muscles seemed deeper to Ash as he stood there admiring the body. He didn’t have any hair on his chest, but the definition of his abs made up its own treasure trail down to the waistband of his jeans as they slipped a little further down his hips. The red and blue peeked out again. Ash’s fingers twitched, wanting to reach out and pull them down further to check for that logo.

Fee picked up a dish rag to wipe the tequila off his body. The light reflected brightly along the path the rag had taken, and Ash wanted nothing more than to follow it. With his tongue. Or his cock. With whatever Fee would let him, actually. It didn’t matter, as long as he could get his skin on Fee’s. He had almost taken a step forward when Fee’s voice broke his trance.

“Thanks, Jackson.” Fee slipped on the shirt, and the show was over. “I’ll go log into the router to make sure it’s up and running.” He turned around and left through the dining room side of the walk-through kitchen. Ash smiled as Fee subconsciously brushed his hand out to push a couple of partially opened drawers shut.

“Dude,” Ash whispered. His eyes were fixed on the spot Fee had just left. His breath was still shallow.

“What?” Jack asked.

“You’ve been holding out on me.”

“What?” Ash turned his gaze to Jack. “You okay little brother? You look like you swallowed your tongue.”

“I think I did. Where have you been hiding that?”

“Oh, no. I know that look now.”

“I’m serious. You’ve been with Mari for a year, and this is the first time I’ve seen him?”

“Forget it. Come on. Boxes are calling,” Jack said, taking the garbage bag from Ash trying to guide him back to the front of the apartment, away from the direction Fee had gone. Ash stood firm.

“What do you mean, forget it? Is he straight?”

“I don’t know what he is, all right? But it doesn’t matter. He’s not your type.”

“You don’t know what my type is anymore. Maybe I’ve changed.”

“Fine. Then you’re not his type, okay? Just drop it.”

“Why?” Ash asked, but Jack had already left. He stood there for another minute. Fee had gone toward the back bedroom, and he finally decided to follow him. “How’s it going?”

Fee looked up over his glasses. With his hair messed up from the bandana, and Jack’s Electricians Do it Until it Hertz T-shirt stretched tightly across his chest, Ash had to grab the door frame to keep from falling to his knees in front of Fee. “Not bad. I’ve got the firewall up, the ACLs set to allow access, and encryption in place. All you have to do is know the password to get in.”

Harder! screamed Ash’s mind. Or maybe fuckmenow! was the password. He walked in to look over Fee’s shoulder. “Buttercup?”

“Yeah,” Fee smiled. He pushed the chair back to stand up, but Ash was crowding the space. If he wanted to stand, Ash wanted to feel that body slide against his. “Uh, excuse me?”

“Oh, sorry,” Ash said, taking a half a step backwards. It allowed Fee a little room, but still crowded close enough to feel the heat from his body as he stood. He curved his body inward, leaning backwards over the desk to move around Ash.

“I’d better go see if they need more boxes.” Fee looked at his feet and started toward the door.

“Wait,” Ash called out. He looked around to find an excuse to keep Fee from leaving. “Your hand!” he nearly shouted.

Fee lifted it and looked at the makeshift bandage still wrapped around it. “What about it?”

“We’d better check it again before you get back out there. Wouldn’t want any dirt to get in.” Yeah. That was a reasonable excuse, Ash thought. “I think I saw some gauze in the bathroom.”

Fee eyed him warily. “I thought you were afraid of blood.”

“It’s not bleeding anymore is it? Look if you want to lose your hand, that’s fine. But how would you work the mouse if you did?” Fee raised his left hand, making Ash laugh. “Fair enough. Come on. I won’t bite.” Unless you ask. Then I’d be happy to make a meal out of you. Ash had to take a breath to get his body and his mind back under the big head’s control. He reached out and took Fee’s hand to lead him into the bathroom. He rummaged in the boxes until he found the gauze, a bottle of peroxide, and a tube of antiseptic cream. “This may sting a little.”

Purchase Link:

Less than Three Press

Leave a Reply

