Review Monday: You Must Set Forth At Dawn and Good News

You Must Set Forth at Dawn First things first, the good news. My story A second chance was accepted for publication. It didn’t really fit the premise for if you’re reading this so it will be released as an individual ebook, which is still great news. #dancing,
Will give more details about the book in another post, but my contract should be with me in a couple of days :D.

Now, on to the review. I know I’ve been a bit behind on my reviews lately, and I apologize for that. Work has been hectic and I’ve not even had time for myself. But I’ve been getting some reading done during my free time though, and this book is one of my all time favorites. Wole Soyinka is a great writer. Hell, he’s the first African to win the nobel laureate, and the best part about it, he’s a Nigeria. Talk about repping my home country. Lol.

Anyway, I had a great time with the book. It was fun, it was funny, it was thought-provoking and it was engaging. He has a way of playing with words, and although I might not completely agree with his views on Lagos (I live there, and I’m of the opinion that it’s one of the best states a place can live in), but getting a glimpse into his head, the people he’s met, the battles he’s fought have helped me get a glimpse into the past.

He has a brilliant mind, and his friends also have brilliant minds. The book is full of the adventures of Soyinka, from his childhood days even till date, and it’s amazing the way one gets to learn at the feet of a genius from his words. If I can become half the writer Wole Soyinka is, I will consider myself fulfilled as a writer.

All in all, this book deserves five stars and all I can say is, everyone who wants to learn more about Nigeria’s past should read this book. It’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

