Friday Review: IAMX

I mentioned when I was starting Friday review that unlike Review Monday which would be all about books, Friday’s review isn’t necessarily limited to books. And although the last two Fridays have been all about reviewing audiobooks I discovered in December, this Friday review is about an amazing band. People, I give you, IAMX!

fb-og-image

Chris looks absolutely pretty doesn’t he? :). Freaking amazing!

Everything I know about IAMX, I got from the internet. So forgive me if you’re not a fan of Wikipedia because the next paragraph will be some background information to the band, gotten courtesy of… you guessed it, Wikipedia ;).

IAMX is the solo musical project of Chris Corner, formerly of the band Sneaker Pimps. Founded in 2004 in London, it is an independent music project which also focuses on and experiments with visual art. Musically, IAMX spans multiple genres from electronic rock and dance music to burlesque influenced songs and emotional ballads. Corner’s striking and wide ranging voice, and his way of programming sounds and beats is an obvious characteristic of IAMX sound.

And that is one thing I love about IAMX’s music. Chris’s voice. Shit. I love the way he glides across the notes, how obviously passionate he is about his songs and how when he’s singing, I can see different images in my head. Images not necessarily connected to his subject matter but images all the same. It’s the reason why IAMX is one of my favourite bands to listen to when I’m writing. They just put me in the right frame of mind.

IAmX

I discovered IAMX two years ago, courtesy of an old friend and had this phase when they were all I listened to. And then I didn’t listen to them as frequently again. Fast-forward two years, my iTunes is on shuffle and IAMX comes on and I just lean back in my chair and smile. Been listening to IAMX all week and my mind is just as blown as it was the first time I heard them.

Their debut album is titled Kiss + Swallow (You and I both know exactly what that is referencing and hell yeah 😉 Lol.) and honestly this is one of my best two of their albums. My second favourite is 2006’s The Alternative which is also freaking amazing :).

If you’re a fan of discovering new music and have never listened to IAMX, give them a try and let me know how the experience goes.

iamx-promo-2015-650x400

Find below the music videos of a couple of my favourite IAMX songs (Please note that the video for After Every Party I die is a live visual that was meant to be projected on screen whilst the band performed). And click on Chris’s image below to get to the iTunes page where you can buy their music. Enjoy :).

IAMX_61seconds

Leave a Reply

