Review Monday: How to be A Normal Person by TJ Klune

25548442

Source: Goodreads

I’ve always been a person that those who know me will consider as being not totally normal. Which is good. I’m okay with not being like everyone else. I smile when people say jokingly, “You know you’re not normal right?”

That’s how much I love that term.

So it is to be expected that when I stumbled onto a book with the title How to be a Normal Person I was intrigued.

Then I read this synopsis:

Gustavo Tiberius is not normal. He knows this. Everyone in his small town of Abby, Oregon, knows this. He reads encyclopedias every night before bed. He has a pet ferret called Harry S. Truman. He owns a video rental store that no one goes to. His closest friends are a lady named Lottie with drag queen hair and a trio of elderly Vespa riders known as the We Three Queens.

Gus is not normal. And he’s fine with that. All he wants is to be left alone.

Until Casey, an asexual stoner hipster and the newest employee at Lottie’s Lattes, enters his life. For some reason, Casey thinks Gus is the greatest thing ever. And maybe Gus is starting to think the same thing about Casey, even if Casey is obsessive about Instagramming his food.

But Gus isn’t normal and Casey deserves someone who can be. Suddenly wanting to be that someone, Gus steps out of his comfort zone and plans to become the most normal person ever.

After all, what could possibly go wrong?

It sealed the deal for me. I added it to my basket on Dreamspinner, bought it and spent the next day reading it.

I loved it!

Gus is a riot. He’s crazy. He’s anal. He memorizes encyclopedia, he’s down-to-earth and utterly adorable. I loved him. I loved how he rambles. I loved that he has so many sides to him. I loved that even with all that grumbling, he was just someone looking for love.

And then there was Casey. He loves weed (understandable. Weed can be pretty amazing). He’s asexual. He loves to take selfies. He’s a social media junkie and no matter how much Gus tries to push him away, he just keeps right on coming back. Talk about a persistent guy :).

Add in Lottie of Lottie’s Latte, We Three Queens and Harry S. Truman, the most adorable ferret ever who in my head looks like Malfoy when Mad Eye Moody turned him into a ferret and there’s a book I love.

It’s my first TJ Klune book but you can bet that it’s not going to be my last. I went ahead and bought every single TJ Klune novel I could find after it. Sure, I’m kind of broke at the moment, but I have even more amazing books from an amazing author to keep me company when I run out of gas.

It’s a win-win. Lol.

So, if you haven’t seen this book yet, please please click on this link and enjoy the zaniness and hilarity that is How to Be A Normal Person.

Leave a Reply

